0 votes
ago by (490 points)
Sorry for the long writing, I don't know how to express this idea.

Buddha stablished a path to overcome dhukka, but if buddhism is about seeing things as they are, then it should be no reason to avoid dhukka because it's just a part of life itself, otherwise you're feeling aversion to dhukka, so you can't wish to feel no aversion because that is feeling aversion to aversion and you can't wish to be enlighten because that would be attachment to it. So you should go through pain and happiness and even dhukka without judging, just observe it.

The main reason to abstain from fulfilling desires it's because it causes dhukka, but if we're not feeling aversion to dhukka nor attachment to enlightenment there should be no reason to abstain at all because you're just desiring, something that comes natural for you, if that makes you suffering then you're just suffering, if desire doesn't stop after suffering, then it just doesn't and it's ok to keep desiring, it may be not the ultimate truth, but meditate for the sake to be enlighten it's also desiring to be enlighten, so there's is no point in doing that, then is it pain and suffering worth to be experienced? Is it ok to keep desiring with no guilty or pleasure? To go through happiness and sorrow with no judgement on the mind?

1 Answer

0 votes
ago by (4.2k points)

The following are two absolute truths in Buddhism:

  1. Suffering and the causes that lead to suffering are evil/bad/unbeneficial inherently.
  2. Freedom from suffering and the causes that lead to freedom from suffering are good/beneficial inherently.

Pain is just one type of suffering. Suffering is categorized into 3 groups:

  1. Dukkha-dukkha: painful experiences
  2. Viparinama-dukkha: the suffering of pleasant or happy experiences changing/fading away.
  3. Sankhara-dukkha: the suffering of experiences being conditioned 

If you study the Four Noble Truths, you will learn 2 things that are relevant to your question:

  1. Aversion is not the solution recommended for suffering. Suffering and the cause of suffering are to be realized. 
  2. Craving(assuming that's what you mean by 'desire') to be enlightened is not the way recommended to reach freedom from suffering. It's the Noble Eightfold path.
ago by (210 points)
Suffering is to be fully understood, the cause of suffering id to be abandoned, Nibbana is to be realized and the Eightfold Noble Path is to be developed.
ago by (4.2k points)
edited ago by
@fernando That's the perfect way to put it,  but to suit this question, I used the word 'realize' as a synonym to understanding.  Also one can say that the abandoning of the cause of suffering is done through realization(dissipating ignorance).
Welcome to Ask.Sirimangalo, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.